top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine

Round Two - The People's Pantry

This is so much fun, you guys. Even though I'm camera shy (more of smirk-er than a smile-er!), giving our checks to our charity - in person - is easily the best part of being in 100WWC. Seriously, come with me next time, it's amazing!



On March 9, I met with the wonderful Ms. Pat Donohue, CEO of The People's Pantry in Tom's River, NJ. It was cold and gross out, but inside the Pantry, it was a homey and hopeful atmosphere! Their waiting room/check in is nestled between the grocery shopping area and their neighbor, JBJ Soul Kitchen. While the two are loosely affiliated in name, the Pantry operates with it's own, unconnected budget to serve over 16,000 food insecure residents of Ocean County. I noticed a sign in the waiting room that said they've had to reduce the number of areas they serve, because there is just SO much need in this area. It's not going away any time soon, so I'm glad we were able to chip in with the power of WWC! Pat gave me "the grand tour" while people shopped with a personal shopper. It was really unique to see a whole area of coolers for fresh produce and other refrigerated goods at a food pantry; they really do a great job of providing for the community. As we talked, she let me know that they can always use in-person volunteers over 16 years old, and I hope to hook her up with some Boy Scouts working on their Eagle, because the People's Pantry has some projects in mind! I love when a plan comes together.


Thanks everyone, for doubling our 2nd donation, let's keep reaching higher and farther!

~Christine

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This is what we've been up to...

bottom of page